Sometimes, you just need to hit the reset button to get a fresh start. Maybe your iPhone needs a fresh start because you’re selling it or you messed up the settings and need to start over. If you don’t do it properly, you could lose all your data. There are right way and wrong way to reset your phone. We tell you exactly what you need to do so that you don’t lose everything during the reset of iPhone. Before you try the factory reset, we recommend you to try the soft reset and force reset at first. And then I will show you how to reset iPhone without iTunes in this article. If you have tried this, please ignore the part 1 and go to part 2 directly.
Part 1: Soft Reset and Force Reset
The easiest way to reset your iPhone is the inverse of turning it on. This method is often referred to as a “soft reset,” meaning you won’t lose any data and nothing will be deleted from your phone. The best time to perform a soft reset is when your phone is running a bit slower than usual, an app isn’t opening or working properly, or some other relatively problem has occurred, but your iPhone is still responsive.
- Step 1: Go to “General > Settings” and scroll to the bottom where you’ll find Shut Down. When you tap Shut Down, you will see the Slide to Power Off slider.
- Step 2: Rest your finger on the slider, then swipe to the right.
- Step 3: Once there is nothing on the screen and it goes black, press and hold the Sleep/Wake button again until the logo appears.
- Alternatively, you can go to General > Settings and scroll to the bottom where you’ll find Shut Down. When you tap Shut Down, you will see the Slide to Power Off slider. You can then proceed to Step 2 above.
Force reset is another way to reset your iPhone what Apple officially calls a “Force Restart”. And no important data will be lost. A “force restart” is recommended when your iPhone is completely unresponsive. Follow the detailed steps:
- Step 1: Press and quickly release the Volume Up button.
- Step 2: Press and quickly release the Volume Down button.
- Step 3: Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button until you see the Apple logo.
- Fixing a malfunctioning iPhone device
- Removal of viruses and deleting of files
- Configuring of the device to its default settings
- Clear memory space on your iPhone
- To remove personal details and information from your iPhone before selling it or giving away the device
- If upgrading when one wants a fresh start
- When sending your iPhone for repairs
If you decide to do a factory reset to your iPhone, the following are reliable ways of factory reset.